REPORT OF OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(SPECIAL) MEETING HELD ON 11 MAY 2009

Chairman: * Councillor Stanley Sheinwald

* Mrs Margaret Davine
* B E Gate
* Jerry Miles
* Mrs Vina Mithani
* Janet Mote
* Paul Scott (1)
* Anthony Seymour
* Dinesh Solanki
* Yogesh Teli
* Mark Versallion

Voting Co-opted:

(Voluntary Aided) (Parent Governors)

† Mrs J Rammelt † Mr R Chauhan † Reverend P Reece Mrs D Speel

* Denotes Member present

(1), (2) and (3) Denote category of Reserve Members

† Denotes apologies received

PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL

PART II - MINUTES

539. Welcome and Announcements:

The Chairman welcomed former and new Members of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee to the inaugural meeting of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2009/10.

Members expressed regret at being informed of the death of the husband of Councillor Mitzi Green. The Chairman undertook to send condolences on behalf of the Committee.

The Committee was pleased to be informed that Harrow Council had been shortlisted for the Annual Good Scrutiny Award.

540. Attendance by Reserve Members:

RESOLVED: To note the attendance at this meeting of the following duly appointed Reserve Members:-

<u>Ordinary Member</u> <u>Reserve Member</u>

Councillor Mitzi Green Councillor Phillip O'Dell Councillor Chris Noyce Councillor Mrs Rekha Shah Councillor Ms Nana Asante

541. Declarations of Interest:

RESOLVED: To note that there were no declarations of interests made by Members in relation to the business transacted at this meeting.

542. **Appointment of Vice-Chairman:**

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Mitzi Green as Vice-Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the 2009/10 Municipal Year.

543. **Minutes:**

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting held on 21 April 2009 be deferred to the next ordinary meeting of the Committee.

544. Establishment of Sub-Committees for 2009/10:

The Committee considered a report setting out the proposed memberships and Chairmen of the Sub-Committees for 2009/10 which, in accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, was admitted late to the agenda in order to enable the scheduled meetings of the Sub-Committees to be convened. The

report was not available at the time of the despatch of the main agenda, as it was being consulted upon.

RESOLVED: That the Sub-Committees of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee be established for the Municipal Year 2009/10 with the memberships and Chairmen detailed in Appendix 1 to these minutes.

545.

<u>Appointment of Lead Members for Scrutiny 2009/10:</u>
The Committee received a report setting out the proposed Lead Members for Scrutiny for 2009/10 which, in accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, was admitted late to the agenda so that the appointments could be made and the Lead Members assume their areas of responsibility. The report was not available at the time of the despatch of the main agenda, as it was being consulted upon.

RESOLVED: That the Policy and Performance Lead Members be appointed for the Municipal Year 2009/10, as detailed in Appendix 2 to these minutes.

546. Dates of Meetings of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the Municipal Year 2009/10:

Members received a tabled paper which set out a corrected list of the dates of Overview and Scrutiny Committee meetings in 2009/10.

RESOLVED: To note the dates of meetings of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the Municipal Year 2009/10, as follows:

2009 9 June

7 July (Special)

28 July

3 September

24 September

12 October

3 November

24 November

8 December (Special)

2010 28 January (Special)

23 February

16 March

13 April

27 April

26 May

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.45 pm, closed at 6.55 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR STANLEY SHEINWALD Chairman

APPENDIX 1

SCRUTINY SUB COMMITTEES

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

Conservative **Liberal Democrat** Labour (1) PERFORMANCE AND FINANCE SCRUTINY SUB-COMMITTEE (11) (6) (4) (1) **Ashok Kulkarni Christopher Noyce** <u>l.</u> Ms Nana Asante Janet Mote B E Gate * Anthony Seymour Dinesh Solanki **Members** Philip O'Dell Mrs Rekha Shah Yogesh Teli Mark Versallion (CH) John Cowan 1. Mitzi Green 1. Paul Scott 2. Manji Kara 2. Mrs Margaret Davine Reserve Members Jeremy Zeid 3. Thaya Idaikkadar 4. Mrs Vina Mithani 4. Keeki Thammaiah 5. Stanley Sheinwald6. Julia Merison (2) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5) (3) (2) Anthony Seymour (CH) Stanley Sheinwald **B E Gate** Mitzi Green * Members Mark Versallion Jerry Miles Reserve Janet Mote Mrs Lurline Champagnie Members Graham Henson 2. Dinesh Solanki 3. Keeki Thammaiah 4. Narinder Singh Mudhar † 4. Mrinal Choudhury † 5. Julia Merison CH = Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters [Note: The appointed number of Reserves for each Group is in excess of the Committee Procedure †

Rule 3.2 provision, by virtue of Resolution 17: Overview and Scrutiny Committee (18.7.06).]

(3) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (Education)

(7) (2)

Mrs Lurline Champagnie **Members** Janet Mote

Anthony Seymour (CH) Stanley Sheinwald Dinesh Solanki Mark Versallion Jeremy Zeid

B E Gate Mitzi Green *

Reserve Members

†

- Mrs Vina Mithani Yogesh Teli Ashok Kulkarni 1.
- 3. 4. Eric Silver
- 5. John Cowan
- Julia Merison
- 7. Narinder Singh Mudhar8. Mrs Camilla Bath
- Tom Weiss

1. Jerry Miles

- 2. Graham Henson
- † 3. Keeki Thammaiah
- † 4. Mrinal Choudhury

Voting Co-opted Members:

- Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector (1)
 - Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Reece
- (2)
- Two representatives of Parent Governors
 Mrs D Speel (Primary)/Mr R Chauhan (Secondary)

CH

= Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters

[Note: The appointed number of Reserves for each Group is in excess of the Committee Procedure Rule 3.2 provision, by virtue of Resolution 17: Overview and Scrutiny Committee (18.7.06).]

APPENDIX 2

LEAD MEMBERS FOR SCRUTINY 2009-10

Policy Lead Member	Councillor
Adult Health and Social Care	Councillor Vina Mithani
Children and Young People	Councillor Mrs Margaret Davine
Corporate Effectiveness and Finance	Councillor Stanley Sheinwald
Safer and Stronger Communities	Councillor Anthony Seymour
Sustainable Development and Enterprise	Councillor Jeremy Miles

Performance Lead Member	Councillor
Adult Health and Social Care	Councillor Mrs Rekha Shah
Children and Young People	Councillor Janet Mote
Corporate Effectiveness and Finance	Councillor Mark Versallion
Safer and Stronger Communities	Councillor Ms Nana Asante
Sustainable Development and Enterprise	Councillor Dinesh Solanki